5 Minute Makeup

I am a huge fan of sleeping in until the last possible second before I have to get up and get ready for work. Over the years I’ve managed to establish a morning routine, part of which includes a quick 5 minute makeup look. This look is my go-to for everyday makeup, since I prefer a more natural look. I even timed myself, and it was just under 5 minutes and 30 seconds (5:23:92 to be exact). If you want to know my 5 minute routine and the products I use, keep reading!

The Base

The most important part of a good makeup look, in my opinion, is a flawless base. I will be doing another post all about my skincare soon, but taking care of your skin makes a quick makeup look so much easier. After I moisturize, I always prime my face using this pore blurring primer. Once the primer is all rubbed in and smoothed out, I put on my foundation.

I currently use two different foundations. For the days I want more coverage and need my look to last longer, I use this filtering foundation (shade 300 or 320 depending on my tan). This is actually the foundation I wore on my wedding day. I do have to say this one oxidizes on me slightly, so be aware of that when choosing a shade. For every other day I use this drugstore matte foundation. I have been using it for years (shade 310 or 322 depending on my tan). I don’t typically wear concealer, but if you can’t live without it, I have this filtering one (shade 190) and this drugstore one (sand) as well!

Eyes

I used to get lash extensions, but with the lash serum I have been using lately I don’t need them! I will include this serum in my upcoming skincare post. My lash type though typically sticks straight out, so I need a good curl on them before I apply mascara.

My favorite eyelash curler comes with a travel sized mascara. I’ve had this same one for 6 years and it has never failed me! I give each side a quick curl, squeezing it for about 10 seconds, and then repeat the same thing twice on each eye. For my no-makeup days, this is literally all I do before heading out the door. It makes me look more awake and just brightens my eyes.

Then, I add 2 coats of black mascara to my top lashes. I have been using this drugstore mascara for about 8 years now and it is my holy grail product! It lengthens and separates my lashes, and I am obsessed with the thin wand. If I am adding bottom mascara, I do one light coat.

Definition

So my face doesn’t look flat and one dimensional, I always add some bronzer and blush. Be careful with both of these because it’s easy to get heavy handed! We don’t want to walk around with clown cheeks and a bronzer helmet.

For my bronzer, I love the way it smells and the color is perfect and can double as a slight contour for my cheekbones. I take a little on my brush and then blend it around the perimeter of my face and beneath my cheekbones. My blush has a little bit of a highlight to it, which I love because that’s one less step I have to do. I always put the blush on the apples of my cheeks and swipe towards my ears slightly. I found that’s what works best for my face shape.

Lock it In

After doing all of this hard work for the last 5 minutes, I like to set my makeup. I don’t do this everyday, but on days where I know I will have multiple meetings or a generally busy schedule I will use my favorite makeup setting spray to lock in my makeup. This is also the setting spray I used on my wedding day and the setting spray I take with my on vacation. They make a convenient travel sized spray, and they also make my primer in travel size. These are also perfect to try before you buy the full size item!

Out the Door

And that’s it! I will usually apply some hydrating lip balm before I leave, but less than 6 minutes and I am done with my makeup and ready to head out the door. What about you? Do you do a full face of makeup on work days? Or do you prefer a quick and natural look?

[show_shopthepost_widget id=”3932719″]

Leave a comment